Please consider supporting our efforts to free Zimbabweans.



EU e-Privacy Directive

This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

View e-Privacy Directive Documents

You have declined cookies. This decision can be reversed.

Zapu Europe chooses a new PEC - 2016 >>read

Zapu Europe chooses a new PEC - 2016 >>read
News / International
by Thulani Nkala
02 May 2016 at 14:57hrs | 4597 Views
On Saturday 30 April 2016, Zapu Europe chose its new provincial executive committee (PEC). Arthur Molife was given a clear mandate to lead this PEC after fighting a strong and spirited challenge from the only other contender, Ms Thembie Mpofu. Ms Susan Ndlovu took over the vice chairperson's position uncontested due to her popularity following her achievements as the outgoing Zimbabwe African Women's Union (ZAWU) chairperson. The women met separately to endorse Ms Sipho Sibanda as the new ZAWU head.  Mr Siqhelile Ndlovu came out all guns blazing to reclaim his finance portfolio. The youth were not to be left out as Nkosiphathise Cakes 'Makhekhe' Vundhla snatched the policy and strategy post from two other candidates while Arnold Dube fought a strong field of contenders to make it as one of the new four committee members.

Results apart, this AGM was a resounding success. The Church of the Martyrs in Leicester was abuzz with excitement throughout.  This is not to say there  was not a few  tense moments with members from the floor challenging some procedures, what with the ever questioning youth. This writer was impressed with the maturity shown in reaching quick but fair resolutions. The council of elders and its Elections committee showed great skill in navigating the proceedings leading  to a peaceful casting of votes. Elders Reginald Mhlanga,  Brian Muvirimi, Herbert  Mafohla and Mr Lawrence Siziba's team deserve a pat on the back. What was even more striking was the good attendance and good camaraderie shown by the delegates.

This was reminiscent of the Milton Keynes days when Zapu was re-launched in Europe after its revival back home. Ms Florence Moyo was quoted as saying,'This is an indication that the party's fortunes are about to change for the better, more people will flock to our next meetings just  as in the early years after Zapu's revival'. Colleagues drove all the way from as far as Newcastle while a party of five flew from Northern  Ireland just to cast their free vote. A free vote is something that remains a pipe dream in modern day Zimbabwe. 'My vote is my secret and I want to make it count' stated Mr Titus Dongo from Birmingham.

The NPC nominee Mrs Sakhile Sibanda kicked off the speeches with a message from the Zapu president, Dr Dumiso Dabengwa who wished the delegates a successful AGM. The outgoing chairman gave a powerful speech beseeching the party in Europe to maintain the unity that had been cultivated in the last four years. Former Magistrate, Mr Johnson Mnkandla challenged the younger delegates in the hall to continue the fight to bring Zanu-pf to account for atrocities committed in the early 80s which are better known as the Gukurahundi atrocities and the current misrule.

There was joyful singing, dancing, sloganeering, toyi-toying and for a moment one could be forgiven for thinking that these people were free at last. This continued until the all the cast votes were counted. Below is the full list of those who were voted into the new committee:

Chairperson - Arthur Molife
Vice  chairperson - Susan Ndlovu
Sec for Admin - Thabiso Mabhena
Sec for finance - Siqhelile Ndlovu
Sec for mobilisation - Adi Moyo
Sec for info and publicity - Bokani M Vundhla
Sec for policy and  strategy - Cakes Nkosiphathise Vundhla
Sec for Security - Eckem Ndlovu
Sec for culture - Ms Zenzo Siziba
Sec for Education, health and welfare - Nomathamsanqa Tholo
Zawu chair - Ms Sipho Sibanda
Youth Chair - Awaiting Youth Congress

Committee members:
1. Rosina Ncube
2. Cosmas Sikhosana
3. Arnold Dube
4. Princess Khumalo

"This committee awaits its formal confirmation which should soon follow after we submit our reports about the conduct and results of this elective AGM to the national Zapu structures in Zimbabwe. The  people have spoken," stated Mr Mafohla, chairman of the Elections Committee.


Source - Thulani Nkala
Read 317 times

Last modified on Wednesday, 23/08/2017

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Go to top