Please consider supporting our efforts to free Zimbabweans.



EU e-Privacy Directive

This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

View e-Privacy Directive Documents

You have declined cookies. This decision can be reversed.

Political Democratization

Political Democratization

Some of the mechanisms and institutions of political democratization are as follows: constitution that has the founding principles of a democratic state, which include inherent dignity and worth of human person, supremacy of the constitution and rule of law, respect, promotion and protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms, citizens the supreme authority of the state, principle of equal rights, devolution of political power to the provinces, peace and national unity, multiparty system of governance and regular, free and fair elections based on adult suffrage, (the founding principle of a democratic state can only be amended by a national referendum); a constitution with a comprehensive bill of rights that covers civil, political, economic, social, cultural and collective rights. (bill of rights to be amended only by national referendum).

Supremacy of the constitution and the rule of law, independent judiciary, population that is literate in human rights; regular free and fair elections; electoral system based on proportional representation; multiparty system; citizen participation in economic, social, political and cultural development; control of abuse of power; transparency and accountability; constitutionally entrenched devolution of power to Provinces and reduced number of Provinces from ten to five (Mashonaland, Masvingo, Matabeleland, Midlands and Manicaland); elected Provincial Assemblies; Provincial Governmental issues within their geographical jurisdiction; Provincial governments to be responsible for economic, social, political and cultural development, President to be elected by National Assembly; Prime Minister to be appointed by the President after consultation with leaders of political parties in parliament; National Authority comprising President, Prime Minister, Speaker of National Assembly and five Provincial Governors; National Authority to advise the President on senior national government appointments, as well as appointments of people to constitutionally entrenched institutions, such as anti-corruption commission; investigative independent media; inclusion of human rights education in country’s educational system; active human rights non-governmental organizations; independent human rights commission; development contract between citizens and government; and country’s constitution to be included as a subject in the education curricula.

Read 1003 times

Last modified on Wednesday, 30/08/2017

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Zapu Newsletter Subscriber

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine